READY TO WORK?

OPEN HEAVENS DAILY
DEVOTIONAL..
DATE : Monday 28 July 2014
THEME : READY TO WORK?
Memorise:
Brethren, I count not myself to
have apprehended: but this one
thing I do, forgetting those things
which are behind, and reaching
forth unto those things which are
before,
Philippians 3:13
Read: Philippians 3:12-14
12 Not as though I had already
attained, either were already
perfect: but I follow after, if that I
may apprehend that for which also
I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.
13 Brethren, I count not myself to
have apprehended: but this one
thing I do, forgetting those things
which are behind, and reaching
forth unto those things which are
before,
14 I press toward the mark for the
prize of the high calling of God in
Christ Jesus.
BIBLE IN ONE YEAR : MATHEW
9:27-12:8 and JOB 12:1-12
Message
Climbing new heights in your
assignment will require a new level
of diligence. When you ask God to
enlarge your coast, you are inviting
“trouble” because the bigger the
church or assignment, the harder
you work. When we were a smaller
church, I could sit down with some
of my children and we would eat,
drink, gist and enjoy ourselves. But
now, I may see them once in three
years and our exchange of
pleasantries normally goes thus:
“Long time, no see” and the reply
would be: “Is that how it is now,
Daddy?” Similarly, years ago, I
used to attend Sunday service at
our Ebute Metta (Lagos)
headquarters. I recall once that I
was there for 16 Sundays while
taking a series, but now, if they
see me once a month, they will
rejoice. If you truly desire the next
level in ministry, you must be
prepared to work. You must put
aside past achievements and be
ready to take on more volume of
work and welcome fresh
assignments like Paul. This is why
he said:
“Brethren, I count not myself to
have apprehended: but this one
thing I do, forgetting those things
which are behind, and reaching
forth unto those things which are
before,”
Philippians 3:13
It is ironic that what is pegging the
promotion of some people is what
they have already accomplished. If
you meet them, they will tell you
to go and check their track record.
Ask them, ‘Is there any present
testimony?’ The answer is ‘No, but
in the past, I achieved this or
that’. It is good to give yourself a
pat on the back, but also tell
yourself that you have not started.
While most people were envious of
Paul and some were wishing they
could do a fraction of what he did,
he was saying he had no record of
past achievements, as his major
concern was what he could achieve
now. On the other hand, some
people who want to move on to
higher levels of God in ministry,
lack the capacity to cope with the
assignment. If you really want to
go up, you will prepare yourself in
many ways. You will acquire more
education; attend more seminars,
workshops and trainings to equip
you more. You will find out better,
cheaper and faster ways of doing
what you do. Are you truly ready
for something higher?
Action Point:
Identify areas where you could
improve your capacity to take on
greater responsibilities and work
on it.

Leave a comment