CONSECRATION AND COMMITMENT

OPEN HEAVENS DAILY
DEVOTIONAL…
DATE : Monday 14 July 2014
THEME : CONSECRATION AND
COMMITMENT
Memorise:
For to me to live is Christ, and to
die is gain.
Philippians 1:21
Read: Romans 12:1-2
1 I beseech you therefore,
brethren, by the mercies of God,
that ye present your bodies a
living sacrifice, holy, acceptable
unto God, which is your
reasonable service.
2 And be not conformed to this
world: but be ye transformed by
the renewing of your mind, that ye
may prove what is that good, and
acceptable, and perfect, will of
God.
BIBLE IN ONE YEAR :
DEUTERONOMY 9:13-11:32 and
JOB 3:20-4-6
Message
After experiencing the elementary
levels of ministry, there is a need
to move on to higher levels. To
experience these higher levels,
there are certain criteria that must
be met. The first is a higher level
of consecration. We can see this in
the life of Paul when in Galatians
2:20 he said:
“I am crucified with Christ:
nevertheless I live; yet not I, but
Christ liveth in me: and the life
which I now live in the flesh I live
by the faith of the Son of God,
who loved me, and gave himself
for me.”
By this he was saying, ‘As far as I
am concerned, I am completely
sold out to God. I have given up
my former lifestyle and desires for
only what Jesus want of me.’ When
you are consecrated, you make
certain deposits on God’s altar of
sacrifice that makes it difficult for
you to live the way you used to. It
takes consecration to be a living
sacrifice (Romans 12:1). When you
are consecrated to God, you will
have a regulated lifestyle. It takes
consecration to die daily. The level
you will go with God as well as
how much God can use you in His
Kingdom will depend on your level
of consecration. Have you laid
your all on the altar of sacrifice?
Another criterion for attaining a
higher level in ministry is
commitment. Commitment is
putting your hands on the plough
and never looking back. It takes
commitment to preach when you
are weak, tired or sick. It takes
commitment to continue the work
when your colleagues in the same
department have left to do other
things. It takes commitment for a
man to say:
“For though I preach the gospel, I
have nothing to glory of: for
necessity is laid upon me; yea,
woe is unto me, if I preach not the
gospel!”
1 Corinthians 9:16
Commitment highly influences
what you are prepared to sacrifice.
It affects your consecration.
Commitment is fast becoming rare
in the body of Christ as many are
increasingly being distracted and
diverted from what is needful.
Your level of commitment will
determine how much time you can
give to God on a daily basis. It will
determine the quality of your
service. If you must move to
higher levels in ministry, you must
be consecrated and committed. Do
you have these great traits in your
life?
Prayer Point:
Father, let consecration and
commitment be commonplace in
your church.

Leave a Reply

