DRAWN BY THE FATHER

OPEN HEAVENS DAILY
DEVOTIONAL…
DATE : Wednesday 2 July 2014
THEME : DRAWN BY THE FATHER
Memorise:
No man can come to me, except
the Father which hath sent me
draw him: and I will raise him up
at the last day.
John 6:44
Read: John 6:43-45
43 Jesus therefore answered and
said unto them, Murmur not
among yourselves.
44 No man can come to me,
except the Father which hath sent
me draw him: and I will raise him
up at the last day.
45 It is written in the prophets,
And they shall be all taught of
God. Every man therefore that
hath heard, and hath learned of
the Father, cometh unto me.
BIBLE IN ONE YEAR : NUMBERS
18:1-20:9 and PSALM 145:1-13
Message
    “I waited patiently for the
LORD; and he inclined unto me,
and heard my cry.”
Psalm 40:1
In the above scripture, David did
not just say he waited, but that he
waited patiently. The implication of
this is that the Christian race is
not a sprint but a marathon. The
journey to Heaven is not
something you do in just a day,
but rather what may take a whole
lifetime. Due to the emphasis
placed on the gospel of the return
of Jesus Christ, some people
believed He would come the very
next day or week after they
received Him into their hearts.
When my friends and I were newly
converted, we thought so too. In
fact, I had to encourage one of my
friends to continue with his studies
because he felt since Jesus was
coming at any moment, it was
pointless going to school. Similarly,
in those days, we were taught that
there were three steps in
Christianity – salvation,
sanctification and Holy Ghost
baptism. We felt then that once
you had experienced those three,
you have arrived. But probably
because of my training in applied
mathematics, I began to do my
personal research to verify if there
were only three steps; and I
discovered seven.
According to Ezekiel 36:24-27, the
first thing God said He would do
even before salvation is to gather
His own together. Ezekiel 36:24
says:
“For I will take you from among
the heathen, and gather you out of
all countries, and will bring you
into your own land.”
This is what Jesus meant when He
said in John 6:44:
“No man can come to me, except
the Father which hath sent me
draw him: and I will raise him up
at the last day.”
Before you are saved, you are first
drawn. No one can be saved
except he or she has been drawn
by the Father. This tells us that
salvation is not at your own
instance but at God’s instance.
Also, God has already taken steps
ahead of you before you respond.
He is the One initiating it and not
you. This is why when people say
they have found Jesus, they are
not speaking the truth. He was
never lost. Rather, He is the One
who was searching for them until
He found them. God uses
everything at His disposal to draw
men to Himself. He used the
burning bush to draw Moses. He
used a blinding light to draw Saul.
He used the miracle of a net-
breaking catch of fish to draw
Peter. He is also drawing you
today even through this medium.
Have you accepted Him?
Key Point:
The Father not only draws you to
salvation but continues to pull you
closer. How close are you to God?

Leave a Reply

