GOD, MY FORTRESS

Open Heavens Devotional
Friday, March 14, 2014
GOD, MY FORTRESS
Memorise:
Be thou my strong habitation,
whereunto I may continually
resort: thou hast given
commandment to save me; for
thou art my rock and my fortress.
Psalm 71:3
Read: 2 Samuel 22:1-4
1 And David spake unto the LORD
the words of this song in the day
that the LORD had delivered him
out of the hand of all his enemies,
and out of the hand of Saul:
2 And he said, The LORD is my rock,
and my fortress, and my deliverer;
3 The God of my rock; in him will I
trust: he is my shield, and the horn
of my salvation, my high tower,
and my refuge, my saviour; thou
savest me from violence.
4 I will call on the LORD, who is
worthy to be praised: so shall I be
saved from mine enemies.
Message
The Most High God is our fortress.
What is a fortress? A fortress is a
stronghold where you can fight
from. After you have been in a
refuge for some time and you are
now prepared for battle, the place
of refuge can become your fortress.
A fortress is where you are to put
on your armour, consolidate all
your strengths and then go out to
battle. The Almighty God is not
only my refuge but He is also my
fortress. This speaks of His
Almightiness. Jehovah-Nissi is not
just a defensive God; He can
equally be on the offensive! He is
the Divine Garrison for genuine
children of God. The God who told
Elijah to go and hide was also the
One who told him to go forth and
fight after some time. In 1 Kings
18:40, we see a different Elijah:
“And Elijah said unto them, Take
the prophets of Baal; let not one of
them escape. And they took them:
and Elijah brought them down to
the brook Kishon, and slew them
there.”
The time of hiding was over and it
was time to go to battle. We also
have another example in 1 Samuel
17:43-45. Here we see how God
can be a fortress. Goliath cursed
David by the name of his gods and
David handed Goliath into the
hands of the Lord of Hosts. Goliath
came to David with sword, spear
and with a shield; but David
confronted Goliath with the Name
of the Lord of Hosts and of the God
of the armies of Israel. While
Goliath was disappointed by his
gods, sword, spear and shield,
David was protected by the
everlasting arms of the Almighty.
If you pay close attention to the
memory verse of today, you will
discover something intriguing
about our God who has never lost
a battle. David discovered this
truth and he asked God to be his
strong habitation where he can
continually resort to. No wonder
the Bible says because you have
made the Lord your habitation,
there shall no evil befall you
(Psalm 91:9-10). To make the
Almighty God your habitation, you
must live holy because He is holy.
Some people may not accept an
invitation to spend their vacation
in the house of an important
personality who is noted for
cleanliness because of their dirty
habits. Don’t continue to short-
change yourself of the privilege of
living with the King of kings and
the Lord of lords. When you make
God your fortress, He will deliver
you from the unrighteous and
cruel men of your generation. My
prayer for you is that your changed
life will qualify you to have God as
your habitation in Jesus’ Name.
Action Point:
Take an inventory of your life and
see what may disqualify you from
having your abode with the Lord
of Hosts. Take positive steps to
change immediately.
Bible in one Year:
Jeremiah 51; Psalm 61

Leave a Reply

