PROVOKING SIGNS AND WONDERS I

OPEN HEAVENS DAILY DEVOTIONAL
BY PASTOR E.A. ADEBOYE
Wednesday, 8th January, 2014
PROVOKING SIGNS & WONDERS I
Memorise:
Jesus saith unto her, Said I not unto
thee, that, if thou wouldest believe,
thou shouldest see the glory of
God?
John 11:40
Read:
Matthew 8:8-10
8 The centurion answered and said,
Lord, I am not worthy that thou
shouldest come under my roof: but
speak the word only, and my
servant shall be healed.
9 For I am a man under authority,
having soldiers under me: and I say
to this man, Go, and he goeth; and
to another, Come, and he cometh;
and to my servant, Do this, and he
doeth it.
10 When Jesus heard it, he
marvelled, and said to them that
followed, Verily I say unto you, I
have not found so great faith, no,
not in Israel.
Message
You must follow some spiritual
principles if you want signs and
wonders to become daily
occurrences in your life. God is so
generous to all that He has made it
easy for all men to provoke His
signs and wonders. Every record of
signs and wonders in the Bible and
in modern times can be traced to
certain factors which were
responsible for their occurrence.
One of such factors is prayer.
Prayers come in different forms. The
prayer of the centurion is the model
I want us to consider as a typical
prayer that provokes signs and
wonders. If there is an example of a
prayer that was answered instantly
with commendation, it is the prayer
of the centurion. The prayer of this
man made the wonder-working
Saviour to marvel! This prayer
manifests something I must draw
your attention to: it was a prayer of
humility. The man said: “I am not
worthy”. When you listen to some
people praying to God, you begin to
wonder whether they are talking to
their houseboy or maid. With every
sense of arrogance, they begin to
issue commands after listing the
reasons for which they believe God
must answer them! May your
prayer-life receive a fresh sense of
humility, coupled with an assurance
that will provoke signs and
wonders in Jesus’ Name.
Another spiritual principle that
provokes signs and wonders is the
principle of praise and worship.
When I see some people who think
they are too good to worship the
King of kings I begin to wonder
what they think themselves to be.
Do you know that even if God
wanted to say no to your request
and you worship Him, the ‘no’ can
become ‘yes’? The Syro-phenician
woman in Matthew 15:21-28 came
to Jesus and said: “Have mercy on
me; my daughter is grievously
vexed of the devil”. Jesus didn’t
answer her a word. This woman
persisted in asking, yet Jesus
seemed not to pay attention to her.
He even said He was sent only to
the lost sheep of the house of Israel.
The Bible says the woman came
and worshipped Him saying: “I
know I don’t qualify for a miracle
but look at me, I am on my knees”.
At the end of the day, she got her
miracle. So when you hear me
eulogising God with names such as:
Rock of ages, Ancient of days, the
Lion of the tribe of Judah etc, I
know what I am doing. I am
provoking signs and wonders. How
many people get up in the morning
and say: “Thank you Lord” on a
daily basis? When you do so, you
are provoking signs and wonders
that will greet the day you are
going into. As from today, learn
how to use the weapons of prayer,
praise and worship to provoke the
needed signs and wonders in your
life.
Action Point:
Before you begin to bombard God
with your requests, thank Him,
worship Him and praise Him for all
His benefits you have received in
the past.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

