GIDEON’S DEFEAT

Open Heavens Daily Devotional
Saturday 23 November
GIDEON’S DEFEAT
Memory Verse: For this ye know, that
no whoremonger, nor unclean person,
nor covetous man, who is an idolater,
hath any inheritance in the kingdom
of Christ and of God.Ephesians 5:5
Read:Judges 8:22-27
22 Then the men of Israel said unto
Gideon, Rule thou over us, both thou,
and thy son, and thy son’s son also:
for thou hast delivered us from the
hand of Midian.
23 And Gideon said unto them, I will
not rule over you, neither shall my
son rule over you: theLord shall rule
over you.
24 And Gideon said unto them, I
would desire a request of you, that ye
would give me every man the earrings
of his prey. (For they had golden
earrings, because they were
Ishmaelites.)
25 And they answered, We will
willingly give them. And they spread a
garment, and did cast therein every
man the earrings of his prey.
26 And the weight of the golden
earrings that he requested was a
thousand and seven hundred shekels
of gold; beside ornaments, and
collars, and purple raiment that was
on the kings of Midian, and beside the
chains that were about their camels’
necks.
27 And Gideon made an ephod
thereof, and put it in his city, even in
Ophrah: and all Israel went thither a
whoring after it: which thing became a
snare unto Gideon, and to his house.
Message
Satan is a boxer and one way he hits
his opponents is by giving them the
jab. A jab is thrusting your fist at your
opponent. If you can hit him in the
belly, he will bend and then you can
take off his head. Satan follows this
pattern repeatedly. The jab he gave to
Elijah in 1 Kings 19:3-4 was
discouragement. On Mount Carmel, he
succeeded in defeating and eliminating
all the 450 prophets of Baal and in
turning the Israelites back to God.
Then Jezebel sent a message to him
that by the following day, he would be
dead. He became discouraged and
afraid and took to his heels.
Discouragement may come from any
angle, even from top leaders in the
body of Christ. Many years ago, while
I was much younger, my General
Superintendent called me and said
that he was impressed by how I
organised the congress and as a
result, he was handing over to me the
organisation of the church convention.
So I mobilised the youths and we had
a successful convention. Then
something happened that got me
discouraged even from my spiritual
leader. He got a report from a fellow,
believed the report and passed his
judgment without even investigating.
As I was driving home, I got to St.
Agnes (Lagos, Nigeria) and the police
stopped my car. I was busy making
up my mind not to continue. Thank
God He spoke to me. He asked me,
“Even though you are disappointed,
have I ever disappointed you?” I
answered in the negative and resolved
to continue.
God used Gideon to deliver His
children and in Judges 8:22-27, they
came with one voice to ask him to be
their king. He refused. Thereafter the
devil decided to try something else by
provoking him to ask them to bring
him some gold with which he would
make an image like God. The devil
rejoiced at this and said he had got
him finally. The image Gideon made
soon became an idol. Be very careful
lest you are tempted to idolise your
victory! This is why victory must be
celebrated within the bounds of
humility. If success is not well
managed, it will become a snare to
the successful. How are you managing
your victory? You can defeat the devil
but if care is not taken, he will turn
your victory into an idol.
Key Point
Be careful that an object or subject of
victory is not transformed into an idol.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

